Is It That Time Of The Month?

” God, she is bitchy tonight. It must be that time of the month”

” Girl, why are you so cranky. Is that Aunt Flo”

Urban Dictionary tells me, ” That time of the month” is an excuse used by women in order to get by whatever they want.

Really?

Do you have the faintest idea of what a woman goes through every freaking month for 40-45 years of her LIFE?

This is for every woman who is tired of being dismissed with a simple phrase, ” Looks like someone is on her period” whenever you tried to explain to another person what you are feeling.

PMS is seen as a disease that turns women into some kind of a monster who cribs, complains, screams and wants to have lots of chocolates.

The June 2012 issue of Cosmopolitan claims that “PMS triggers all those annoying symptoms: bloating, bitchiness, serious junk-food cravings” and a “Brain Haze” that inhibits your ability to make decisions. Their solution? Sex or shopping. Aren’t women capable of more than that – at all times of the month?

It is not a joke. Do you know that PMS symptoms include anxiety, depression and hopelessness?

Up to 75 percent of women experience symptoms of PMS to varying degrees. These include both physical and emotional symptoms. If you feel depressed, anxious, irritable, or find yourself crying during the first few days of your period, it is normal.

A drop in estrogen and progesterone levels accelerate a drop in serotonin ( happiness chemical) hormone. Serotonin is also responsible for mood,appetite and a good sleep.

Even though, exercise is the last thing on your mind- a mild exercise or yoga can instantly lift your mood and compensate for the low serotonin levels.

So, once and for all, on behalf of all women in the world- I’d like to end my monologue with a quote by Gloria Steinem “If women are supposed to be less rational and more emotional at the beginning of our menstrual cycle when the female hormone is at its lowest level, then why isn’t it logical to say that, in those few days, women behave the most like the way men behave all month long?”

Do you remember when you had your period for the first time? How did you feel about it?

7 thoughts on “Is It That Time Of The Month?

  1. When I had my first period, I legit thought I was dying LOL! We had sex-ed in school, so I knew in theory what was supposed to happen, but I was just not expecting it to be so… much.

    Like

    • I did not knew anything about it before it happened to me. While my mom was trying her best to convince me that it happens with every girl. I thought she knew I am dying and she is just giving me hope. lol :p

      Like

Let me know you were here :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.