Turning Twenty Nine

6a011168668cad970c017743b5b4d3970d-400wi

Probably, I should be feeling sad or at least weird about turning 29. Do you even understand what that means – you ain’t allowed the excuse of being in 20’s anymore?

We can thank the Internet for romanticizing 20’s as a decade of making mistakes, taking chances and being selfish. Do we stop doing all that in 30’s or 40’s?

The answer is No. We are humans and that is what we do best – make mistakes.

So, why do we fuss so much about numbers? Be it the size we wear, the candles on our birthday cake or the score in exams.

My 16th birthday was plain, no fancy treatments and butterflies in the stomach. My 30th should not trouble me either as what truly matters to me is that I’m still Alive. I’ve known a dozen people who died young, very young and also people who in the late nineties are waiting for death.

I refuse to fit in the standards of society where one is supposed to have his/her own family, a big house, bank balance, the world tour, skydiving, climb a mountain etc etc etc by the times they turn 30. The list is endless. For some of us, life begins after 40 and others at 12. Offcourse, our dreams should have a deadline but they should be realistic.

When I see women rant about turning older, grey hairs and ageing skin, it bothers me because its the society that denies women the right to age and look ugly. If we look deeper, 30’s do not bother us, it’s the expectations levied on us by the society.

When one is unaffected by people’s opinions, free from expectations of the society and brave enough to stand alone – nothing matters, age becomes just a number.

“I am self-propelled; fueled from within. I appreciate people’s opinions, but I’m not attached to them. I learned a long time ago that if I give them the power to feed me, I also give them the power to starve me.”

P.S – Birthdays should always be celebrated, age does not matter

29 thoughts on “Turning Twenty Nine

  1. Your post reminded me of this quote by Mandy hale.

    “You’ll learn, as you get older, that rules are made to be broken. Be bold enough to live life on your terms, and never, ever apologize for it. Go against the grain, refuse to conform, take the road less traveled instead of the well-beaten path. Laugh in the face of adversity, and leap before you look. Dance as though EVERYBODY is watching. March to the beat of your own drummer. And stubbornly refuse to fit in.”

    Like

  2. Good write. You said it, it is merely an excuse. Let go! Lol. I like my birthday so much more once I stopped looking at the numbers. (though sometimes I still do)

    Like

  3. I got married in 29 and I thought it was just the perfect age. 30 was super low when I dropped my performance in sports, it reminded me of my younger years when I use to just fly in marathons. However being 34 now it’s not bad at all because what I accomplish now with a broken back it is more satisfying and motivating. I still run fast and I still come ahead of most of under 30s. I second your article … Its all in the head.. age doesn’t matter at all 🙂

    Very well written. Lucky to read this early morning…my day will be good 🙂

    Like

  4. I grew up hating Sports and any kind of physical activity.I have never run a single marathon but I wish to start running for my own good.

    Thank you for sharing your views

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know you were here :)

