No Toy No Joy



A letter from a child who had no toys ;


Daddy says , ” They are dirty things to play with “.
I know the truth 
I know we can’t afford to buy any
But they look like most beautiful things to me
I won’t force you to get them for me
But can I just look at those pretty things
Please don’t push me away when I do
Don’t Panic , I won’t steal from you
I won’t even ask to touch
You think I am dirty
Someday when I grow up to be a big boy
I’ll work hard like daddy and buy it
Till I grow up ,
let me watch those pretty things.

A child can ask questions that a Wise Man cannot answer . They bring the joy in our Lives and teach us a million things that we had forgotten in these years. They are great Imitators ,so why not give them something great to imitate.He hears you when you shout at the Driver and watches you when you give that dirty look to the fellow.


I do not remember anything as a child, I asked for and didn’t receive.I was very fond of playing ” Ghar Ghar “. Bathing and dressing my doll,taking her to the doctor,cooking food for her and sometimes telling her , ” why do you have to annoy mom all the time ” were few of the many things I did to imitate my Mother. The sight of beggar’s daughter that lovingly looked at my doll never stops haunting me either.Poor Things derive joy from looking at our toys that might seem to them best things on Earth.



It seems impossible to talk about Childhood and not mention Toys . “No Toy No Joy ” but not everyone has the privilege of playing with them. Not all children smile without care for the world, not all of them are told bedtime stories, not all of them get chocolates and ice creams.Some of them search for toys in the garbage bin. Why not do our bit to share our toys with them and bring smiles .

 My school activity when I was 9, Art and Craft Classes taught us making soft toys that day and we were all asked to make as many as we could. Next day , all excited we were showing each other what we had made.The teacher told us that we need to donate all of them for street children that our School was supporting , I came back home cried and Bittu was taken away from me .  My mom told me ” It was given to someone who needs it more than you do and He would ask God to bless me for that ” As we grow up , Childhood Lessons start making more sense.



Teach your children the joy of Giving and share joys with the less privileged ones. I am supporting the Organisation called Toy Bank in association with Bloggers Social Responsibility. You can do your bit for these Children by few easy steps.Open your Happiness Account Today Itself.


Activity: Toybank, a non-profit organization has been set up with the aim of providing toys to children who come from a weak socio-economic background.

Details: Goals: To ensure that children from disadvantaged backgrounds receive toys through collection and distributions. To bridge the gap between children from different backgrounds by creative play/group events/community events. To make play space available for children through– Toy libraries in available infrastructures; reclaim open public spaces for children. To design and thus provide toys that will be context specific, by having toys made in local languages as well.

Support: Children, Right to Play, Right to Leisure, non-formal education, toys.

Note: We are looking for volunteer coordinators in Pune and Bangalore. We are looking for NGOs working on education of children in Delhi/NCR.

This post is a part of BlogAdda’s Bloggers Social Responsibility (BSR) initiative. I am exercising my BSR. You can too with three simple steps. Visit http://www.blogadda.com/bsr/ and support the NGO’s.

2 thoughts on “No Toy No Joy

  1. This is definitely one of your best heartwarming posts. And that too with a great moral purpose.
    True that , for a child , poor or rich , toys mean the world to 'em when they are growing up. Depriving them of 'em toys is depriving them of the joys of childhood. It is a great Initiative and I would be glad to help and make a difference.I live in Pune. Do let me know the details if possible or else I will try doing some research on my own.
    Thanks for this lovely post Nikita!:)
    “No toy no Joy”

    Like

  2. Thanks for the Appreciation Nikhil..Much much appreciated..It's an organisation called ” ToyBank ” where you can do your bit

    I would be more than Glad if you did 🙂 Thanks Again..

    Like

Let me know you were here :)

